A fundraising event to support our historic lighting project. Old Evansville Historic Association
Mission Statement: To Protect, Share, and Enhance the Heart and History of Historic Evansville
Bounded by Walnut-Third-Riverside-Sunset & Adams
Holiday House Tour 2013
Sunday, December 8
12:00 – 4:00 p.m.
408 S.E. RIVERSIDE DRIVE - WOOLLEY-COX House The Evansville architects Harris and Shopbell designed this house in 1905 for coal mine owner and dealer Jabez Woolley. The finest Beaux Arts style dwelling in Evansville, this classical style features copper balustrades crowning the roof and porch, copper soffits and cornices, complete with classical modillions and dentils. White Green River, KY limestone is found on the porch piers, walls and columns, first story rusticated cladding, and eared window surrounds. The elegant interior is said to have been decorated by Marshall Field of Chicago. Dr. Charles Hudson recently finished restoring the house which is now the home of Kay Cox.
609 S.E. FIRST STREET – LEWIS-SMITH House An unnoticed gem, the Lewis-Smith house dates to the mid-1850s, making it the oldest house in the immediate neighborhood and one of the earliest still standing in the Riverside District. Dr. Stephen Lewis, dentist, purchased the house in 1879; his daughter resided here until 1944. The house has the symmetry of Federal architecture with other features – like the prominent gothic inspired central gable. The front porch, certainly an addition, exhibits some later Queen Anne flair. Current owners, Jeff and Julia Smith, have brought historic charm back to the home, restoring the interior, replacing the aluminum siding, and sensitively repairing the front porch.
615 S.E. FIRST STREET – JOHNSON-HAYDEN House A classic Venetian form of Italianate architecture erected in 1867 featuring a square two-story form, low-pitched roof, round-headed symmetrically spaced windows, prominent eave brackets, and gabled central projecting entry pavilion. Though dating to 1893, the stunning two-story wrought-iron porch gives the home a New Orleans flair. The first resident, Alvah Johnson, attorney and real estate developer, certainly displayed his prominence erecting this fine residence. H. Paul and Francis Maier lovingly cared for this home from 1946 to 2009. The current residents, Jeffrey and Amy Hayden, have continued this tradition, redecorating the interior in the spirit of its historic charm.
827 S.E. FIRST STREET – FENDRICH-WARREN House Built in 1916-17 for John Fendrich, president of the Fendrich Cigar Company. He and his wife Nettie Buttriss Fendrich made this the social center of Evansville. A cornerstone of Evansville architecture, it was designed by Chicago architect William L. Klewer. Note the extraordinary stone window and door encasements, lions flanking the entrance, panels above the 2nd story windows, columns, and porch urns. The stone is fine white Green River, KY limestone carved by sculptors brought from Italy. The fine appointments carry into the interior with the elegant marble floors, exotic mahogany and circassian walnut, stained glass, and a grand staircase. The home is owned by Byron and Elaine Warren.
Special thanks to our sponsors & friends
Dennis Au Guthrie’s Pharmacy City-County Observer Courier & Press WIKY
Deaconess Hospital WFIE First Federal Savings Bank Evansville Convention & Visitor’s Bureau
Fifth Third Bank Chris and David Brown